2015 CT Higher Education Service Awards announced

Winners of the 2015 Connecticut Higher Education Community Service Awards were presented at an Awards Ceremony the State Capitol on Tuesday, April 14, 2015.

The Connecticut Higher Education Community Service Awards recognize community service activities conducted by college students, faculty and staff statewide. The awards are made by the Connecticut Commission on Community Service working in partnership with an awards committee representing community-based organizations.  Awards were given to two recipients in each of three categories: Students, Student Groups, and Faculty & Staff.

In the faculty and staff category, Douglas Goodstein, a resident hall director at the University of Connecticut was honored alongside Cathy Lechowicz, the Director for Community Partnerships in the Office of Community Service at Wesleyan University.

Student winners included Faustino De La Cruz from the University of Bridgeport and Hunter McGinty from Norwalk Community College.

Yale University’s Hunger and Homelessness Project and Eastern Connecticut State University’s High Chase Weekly Program – People Helping People were recognized as outstanding student groups focused on community service.